Angebote zu "World" (550 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Jack London. The Paths Men Take
23,60 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Jack London has been a legendary writer of the beginning of the Nineteenth century: famous, prolific, controversial, and revolutionary, Jack London has been one of the most fascinating personalities in the history of US. But this is not all. In his life, Jack London was also a photographer (he would call his pictures human documents) and his camera has been his inseparable companion in his adventures and reportages all over the world. This book, with the introduction by Davide Sapienza, includes a vast selection of his photography reportages, together with his excerpts from his narrative and journalistic masterpieces. These include important landmarks in which Jack London was witness of key events of his times, like the Russo-Japanese War, the San Francisco earthquake, and the incredible Cruise of the Snark. For the first time, a book that focuses on Jack London the photographer, merging his visual report with his narratives to look at a more complete picture of the artist. This book represents an unprecedented look at the writer and his photographic documentation, a fascinating and adventurous journey through the world of Jack London. Edited by Alessia Tagliaventi, it includes 70 black and white pictures by the famous author and incredible photographer Jack London. Raised in poverty as an illegitimate child, Jack London dropped out of school to support his mother, working in mind-deadening jobs that would foster a lifelong interest in socialism. Brilliant and self-taught, he haunted Californias waterside bars, brawling with drunken sailors and learning about love from prostitutes. Full of laughter, restless and courageous, Jack London was one of the most adventurous figures of this time. He ascribed his worldwide literary success largely to hard work - to dig, as he put it. Between 1900 and 1916 he completed more than 50 fiction and non-fiction books, hundreds of short stories and numerous articles. His lust for adventure took him from the beaches of Hawaii to the gold fields of Alaska, where he experienced firsthand the struggles for survival he would later immortalize in classics like White Fang and The Call of the Wild. A hard-drinking womanizer with children to support, Jack London was no stranger to passion when he met and married Charmian Kittredge, the love of his life. Despite his adventurous past, London had never before met a woman like Charmian, she adored fornication and boxing, and willingly risked life and limb to sail and explore. She typed his manuscripts while he churned out novels, serving as his inspiration and his critic. Lover, fighter, and onetime hobo, Jack London lived large and died before he was forty.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
ISBN Port Mungo Buch Taschenbuch Englisch 256 S...
15,03 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Throughout their privileged but highly eccentric childhood Jack Rathbone has enjoyed the constant adoration of his sister Gin. When both attend art school in London, Jack plunges into a passionate affair with Vera Savage, a painter some years his senior, and they soon run away to New York. From a bruised and bereft distance Gin follows their southward progress to Miami, then Havana, and so to Port Mungo, a wilting swamp town on the steamy Gulf of Honduras. There Jack devotes himself to his art, and works with a fervour as intense as the restless, boozy waywardness to which Vera succumbs, which even the birth of two daughters cannot subdue. As the tension builds, a tragedy occurs that will tear apart not only their world but that of Jack's watchful sister, Gin.

Anbieter: Dodax AT
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
ISBN Port Mungo Buch Taschenbuch Englisch 256 S...
14,62 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Throughout their privileged but highly eccentric childhood Jack Rathbone has enjoyed the constant adoration of his sister Gin. When both attend art school in London, Jack plunges into a passionate affair with Vera Savage, a painter some years his senior, and they soon run away to New York. From a bruised and bereft distance Gin follows their southward progress to Miami, then Havana, and so to Port Mungo, a wilting swamp town on the steamy Gulf of Honduras. There Jack devotes himself to his art, and works with a fervour as intense as the restless, boozy waywardness to which Vera succumbs, which even the birth of two daughters cannot subdue. As the tension builds, a tragedy occurs that will tear apart not only their world but that of Jack's watchful sister, Gin.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
ISBN Urban Outlaws Buch Children's Taschenbuch ...
8,70 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Meet the URBAN OUTLAWS: Jack, Charlie, Slink, Obi and Wren. Five quick-thinking, super-skilled kids who live to right society's wrongs. From their bunker deep beneath the city of London, the Outlaws plan their missions, stealing money from the rich to give to those in need. But events spiral out of control when they accidently uncover the whereabouts of Proteus - a game-changing new quantum computer with the power to steal top-security secrets in a nanosecond. It's down to the guile, guts and gadget know-how of Jack and his team to carry out their greatest plan yet - and avert world domination.Non-stop action and edge-of-your-seat adventure for fans of Robert Muchamore, Anthony Horowitz and Alex Scarrow. urbanoutlawsbunker.com

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Jack Beddington
29,90 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Please note that the content of this book primarily consists of articles available from Wikipedia or other free sources online. John Louis "Jack" Beddington (1893 1959) was a United Kingdom advertising executive, best known for his work as publicity director for Shell in the 1930s and as head of the Ministry of Information Films Division during the Second World War.Jack Beddington was born in South Kensington, London in 1893 to Charles Lindsay Beddington and Stella Goldschmidt de Libantia. Educated at Wellington College and Balliol College, Oxford, he served with the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry during World War I. In January 1918, he married Olivia Margaret Streatfeild.

Anbieter: Dodax AT
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Jack Beddington
29,00 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Please note that the content of this book primarily consists of articles available from Wikipedia or other free sources online. John Louis "Jack" Beddington (1893 1959) was a United Kingdom advertising executive, best known for his work as publicity director for Shell in the 1930s and as head of the Ministry of Information Films Division during the Second World War.Jack Beddington was born in South Kensington, London in 1893 to Charles Lindsay Beddington and Stella Goldschmidt de Libantia. Educated at Wellington College and Balliol College, Oxford, he served with the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry during World War I. In January 1918, he married Olivia Margaret Streatfeild.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Private London
9,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

SOMETIMES WHEN THE NIGHTMARE ENDS - THE TERROR IS ONLY JUST BEGINNING...For Hannah Shapiro, a beautiful young American student, this particular nightmare began eight years ago in Los Angeles, when Jack Morgan, owner of Private - the world's most exclusive detective agency - saved her from a horrific death. She has fled her country, but can't flee her past. The terror has followed her to London, and now it is down to former Royal Military Police Sergeant Dan Carter, head of Private London, to save her all over again.Carter draws on the global resources of Private in a desperate race against the odds. But the clock is ticking... Private may be the largest and most advanced detection agency in the world, but the only thing they don't have is the one thing they need - time.

Anbieter: Dodax AT
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Private London
9,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

SOMETIMES WHEN THE NIGHTMARE ENDS - THE TERROR IS ONLY JUST BEGINNING...For Hannah Shapiro, a beautiful young American student, this particular nightmare began eight years ago in Los Angeles, when Jack Morgan, owner of Private - the world's most exclusive detective agency - saved her from a horrific death. She has fled her country, but can't flee her past. The terror has followed her to London, and now it is down to former Royal Military Police Sergeant Dan Carter, head of Private London, to save her all over again.Carter draws on the global resources of Private in a desperate race against the odds. But the clock is ticking... Private may be the largest and most advanced detection agency in the world, but the only thing they don't have is the one thing they need - time.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
The Haunting of Henry Twist
11,30 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

London, 1926: Henry Twist's heavily pregnant wife leaves home to meet a friend. On the way, she is hit by a bus and killed, though miraculously the baby survives. Henry is left with nothing but his new daughter - a single father in a world without single fathers. He hurries the baby home, terrified that she'll be taken from him. Racked with guilt and fear, he stays away from prying eyes, walking her through the streets at night, under cover of darkness.But one evening, a strange man steps out of the shadows and addresses Henry by name. The man says that he has lost his memory, but that his name is Jack. Henry is both afraid of and drawn to Jack, and the more time they spend together, the more Henry sees that this man has echoes of his dead wife. His mannerisms, some things he says ... And so Henry wonders, has his wife returned to him? Has he conjured Jack himself from thin air? Or is he in the grip of a sophisticated con man? Who really sent him?Set in a postwar London where the Bright Young Things dance into dawn at garden parties hosted by generous old Monty, The Haunting of Henry Twist is a novel about the limits and potential of love and of grief. It is about the lengths we will go to hold on to what is precious to us, what we will forgive of those we love, and what we will sacrifice for the sake of our own happiness.

Anbieter: Dodax AT
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot